Hunting for Treasure

"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirate's loot on Treasure Island."–Walt Disney

My first blog! October 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — jenucdavis @ 1:38 am

Hi there, everyone!  Thanks for stopping by my new blog site, “Hunting for Treasure”.  My title was inspired by the genius Walt Disney, who once said, “There is more treasure in books than in all the pirate’s loot on Treasure Island.”

My goal is to use this blog as a way of contributing to the Web 2.0 culture that has been such a tremendous resource in my own teaching.  Here on “Hunting for Treasure” I plan to share my thoughts on both young adult books and professional resources I’m currently reading, as well as teaching strategies I have found to be a success in my classroom. My hope is that you will find something of use that will help you in your teaching endeavors.

Please visit often!

Jennifer

 

5 Responses to “My first blog!”

  1. Brooke Says:

    I’ve bookmarked your blog, and intend to visit it often! Maybe I’ll get to do actual networking since we never get to visit. We’re thinking of adding a few titles to our Academy Awards Unit, so I’ll definitely check out the ones you’ve suggested. Have you read any of these:
    The Day of the Pelican
    Notes from the Dog
    The Boy Who Dared
    Distant Waves
    Seer of Shadows
    Deep and Dark and Dangerous
    We’re looking for some additional historical fiction. Any good ideas?

  2. jenucdavis Says:

    I just bought Deep and Dark and Dangerous and Distant Waves from Scholastic, so I’ll be reading those soon.

    Regarding historical fiction…have you heard of The Evolution of Calpurina Tate by Jacqueline Kelly? This book has piqued my interest, but the content relates to evolution, so I don’t know how brave I am to put that in my class library! I always get nervous with controversial topics, especially in 6th grade!

    Another historical fiction book that looks interesting to me is FlyGirl by Sherri Smith. it’s about a girl whose dream is to become a pilot during World War II.

    In my Scholastic order, I received Someone named Eva by Joan M. Wolf as a free book. It’s a novel set in World War II. I haven’t had a chance to really take a look at it, though.

    This book is a few years old, but A Break with Charity: The Story of the Salem Witch Trials is a good one. I love a good witch book! Ann Rinaldi writes a lot of historical fiction.

    Hope this helps!
    By the way, sorry I couldn’t link the book titles to Amazon for you…I can’t seem to link when I reply–I’m still learning!

    • Brooke Says:

      Your blog is so fun! Thanks for your historical fiction suggestions. I’ve added them to my own list to read, although it’s getting quite long! I’m in the middle of Deep and Dark and Dangerous, so it was interesting to hear what you thought of it. And I’ve checked out The Schwa and Viola books too!

      I completely agree about the reading logs. I’m having my students set a reading goal for how many books to read each quarter, and I keep track with short story maps and book talks. They also have to do one project each quarter to share their “favorite” book. While I still have some kinks to work out, it’s been good for my higher level readers. I have a “Reading Rocks” theme, and if they get a page of “frets” completed, I’ll order a book from Scholastic for them. I have two kids who are already halfway finished, and that’s almost 20 books!

      Take care, and keep in touch.

  3. Katie Story Says:

    Hi Jen! I just found your blog in the district newsletter and thought I’d check it out. Great ideas and I can 100% relate about reading logs. I’m in a “no reading log” year and loving it! 🙂 I’m absolutely checking out The Schwa Was Here. Been looking for a good 6th grade read aloud. Thanks! Miss seeing you.
    Katie Story

    PS. Hey, you get married?! 🙂

    • jenucdavis Says:

      Hey, Katie! I did get married…we celebrated our one year anniversary two weeks ago! I miss seeing you too. You’ve got to read The Schwa! Although, I did forget to say in my post about that book that there are maybe 3 or 4 occasions where the author uses “grown-up” words, so just keep an eye out for it. I just replace the words with heck or something along those lines! It’s an easy fix!


Leave a Reply

